life cycle of thread


0  0 2016-10-01 02:34:06

But for better understanding purpose the threads life cycle, we are explaining it in the five states.
The Thread life cycle of java is handled / controlled by Java Virtual Machine (JVM). Below are the  java thread states:
1. New State
2. Runnable State
3. Running State
4. Non-Runnable (Blocked) State
5. Terminated State

1) New State                             : If we create or define an instance of thread class but before the invocation / run of start() method the thread is now in the new state.
2) Runnable State                      : Invocation of start() method the thread is in runnable state, but thread scheduler has not selected / declare it to be the running thread.
3) Running State                        : If the thread scheduler has selected it then the thread is in running state.
4) Non-Runnable (Blocked) State : Currently not eligible to run the thread but thread is still alive so this time it is in non-runnable state.
5) Terminated State                    : When threads run() method exits then thread is in terminated or dead state.

Thread class Constructors:
• Thread()                  :- default constructor.
• Thread(String name) :- this constructor required one string parameter.
• Thread(Runnable r)   :- it is used the Runnable interfece object as a parameter.
• Thread(Runnable r,String name)

Thread class Methods :-
1. run():  this method is used to perform execution / action for a thread.
2. start(): actually starts the execution of the thread. Java Virtual Machine calls the run() method on the thread.
3. sleep(long milliseconds(1000) ): suspend the currently running / executing thread to sleep (temporarily stop the execution) for the specified number of time which is in milliseconds.
4. join(): this method is waits for thread to die.
5. join(long milliseconds(1000)): this method waits for thread to die for the specified time which is in miliseconds.
6.  int getPriority(): this method returns priority of the current thread.
7. int setPriority(int priority): this method changes the priority of the current thread.
8. String getName(): this method returns the name of the current thread.
9. setName(String name): this method changes the name of the thread. getId(): this method returns the id of the thread.
11.boolean isAlive(): this method check / tests if the thread is alive.
12.suspend(): this method suspend the thread.
13.stop(): this method is used to stop the thread execution.
14.boolean isDaemon(): this method tests if the thread is a daemon thread or normal.
15.setDaemon(boolean b): this method makes / marks the thread as daemon or user thread.
16.interrupt(): this method interrupts the thread.
17.boolean isInterrupted(): this method tests if the thread has been interrupted.
18.static boolean interrupted(): this method tests if the current thread has been interrupted.


Comments (0)

Post Your Comments


Hong Kong Office

Find Us On

Website Development Company
Digital Marketing
website development company in Hong Kong
website designer in pune